GFWA Prize in Geomechanics for Final Year Undergraduate Projects in Geomechanics at Universities in Western Australia

Basis of the Award

The GFWA Prize in Geomechanics is a prize sponsored by the firm GFWA Pty Ltd and awarded by the Australian Geomechanics Society (AGS) for the best paper presentation by a final year student in the area of Geomechanics at Universities in Western Australia. The winner is chosen by a panel selected by the AGS WA Committee. Judging is done on the basis of the overall quality of the project and work, the quality of the written paper; and the standard of the presentation on the night.


The winner will receive a prize of $800, each finalist receive a prize of $200 and the best presentation (as judged by votes cast by the audience) receives $200.

Past Winners

  • 2014 – Julia Li
  • 2013 – Guan Tor Lim
  • 2012 – Stephen Suryasentana
  • 2011 – Tina Qiao
  • 2010 – Ryan Colcott
  • 2009 – Mark Simkin
  • 2008 – Saskia Barnett
  • 2007 – Radoman Kitanovich
  • 2006 – James De Burgh
  • 2005 – James Ayers
  • 2004 – Andrew Wilson
  • 2003 – Andrew Howes