Geotechnical Engineering: A Tale of Two Cities

AGS Victoria 2019 AGM & Annual Dinner

Prof Mark Cassidy

Registrations are now closed

The Victoria Chapter of the Australian Geomechanics Society invites you to its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wed. 4th of December 2019, followed by its Annual Dinner. During the AGM the Chair, Assoc. Prof Guillermo Narsilio, will summarise the Chapter’s activities throughout the year and will deliver a short Chair address about “Energy Geo-structures: Past, Present and Future in Victoria”.

The AGM will take place at The University of Melbourne, 234 Queensberry St, Carlton VIC 3053; Level 2; Lecture Theatre 219 from 6:00 pm. The event if free to AGS and EA members.

Our annual dinner will be a short walk North from our AGM, at the Melbourne Law School, 185 Pelham St, Carlton VIC 3053; Level 10. Please register for dinner and send the complete registration form to the AGS Secretary (note, Members $80, non- members $110).

We are proud to welcome Prof Mark Cassidy of the Melbourne School of Engineering as our Guest Dinner Speaker.

Sponsorship opportunities exist for the event.

About the speaker

Prof Mark Cassidy Dean of Engineering, The University of Melbourne

Professor Mark Cassidy is Dean, Professor of Civil Engineering and Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow, Melbourne School of Engineering. Prior to
his appointment in Melbourne he was Director of

the internationally renowned Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems (COFS) and Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Geotechnical Science and Engineering (ARC CoE CGSE) at the University of Western Australia (UWA).

Mark’s research interests are in offshore geotechnics and engineering. Mark has supervised over twenty PhD students to completion, published over 300 articles and holds three international patents.

Mark is the 2015 WA Scientist of the Year, an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE) and the 2007 recipient of the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year – one of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science. He is a three-time recipient of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) David Hislop Award for the best paper on offshore engineering (2003, 2014 and 2017), as well as the 2012 recipient of the ICE’s Geotechnical Research Medal for the best paper on geotechnical engineering.

Mark is passionate about safe and sustainable engineering in the ocean, though he still is failing in teaching himself to surf.

Engineers Australia members participating in AGS technical sessions can record attendance on their personal CPD logs. Members should refer to Engineers Australia CPD policy for details on CPD types, requirements and auditing guidelines.