Courses

The AGS runs a number of professional training and education courses. These are run according to demand. To register your interest or to inquire further, please contact the course coordinator or [email protected].

Current Courses

Soil and Rock Logging Course

Fri 13 Apr 2018
Fri 20 Apr 2018
Fri 27 Apr 2018
Wed 2 May 2018

The Australian Geomechanics Society (AGS) is hosting a course on Soil and Rock Logging. The one day course will aim to educate geotechnical engineers, engineering geologists, geo-technicians and other relevant professionals in logging and/or interpreting soil and rock logs in accordance with AS1726 – Geotechnical Site Investigations. In addition, the significant changes to AS1726 contained More Information…

Workshop on Unsaturated Soil Mechanics for Practicing Engineers

Mon 2 Jul 2018 - Tue 3 Jul 2018

The aim of these workshops is to enhance the capabilities of practicing engineers when applying soil mechanics, analysing data and solving problems involving unsaturated soils. The workshops will be delivered by experts on unsaturated soils from UNSW’s Centre for Infrastructure Engineering and Safety. Unsaturated soils are widely encountered and need to be dealt with in More Information…

Geotechnical Mapping Course

Wed 25 Jul 2018
Tue 21 Aug 2018
Thu 23 Aug 2018
Tue 16 Oct 2018
Thu 18 Oct 2018
Tue 30 Oct 2018
Thu 1 Nov 2018

The Australian Geomechanics Society will be running a one-day Geotechnical Mapping training course from July 2018. This course is intended to complement existing courses offered by the AGS. The skills developed in the Soil and Rock Logging course are directly relevant to this course and the skills developed in this course are directly relevant to More Information…

GIS for Geotechs

Thu 9 Aug 2018

Empowering geotechnical practitioners with geographic information systems The Australian Geomechanics Society is offering a new short course that is an introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS) with a focus on geotechnical applications. All geotechnical investigations have significant spatial components and GIS software is an appropriate and powerful tool for bringing diverse data sources together to More Information…

AGS Geology for Engineers Course

Sat 17 Nov 2018 - Sun 25 Nov 2018

Who should attend The course is designed for geotechnical engineers involved in civil and mining projects who have limited geological backgrounds. Aims of the course Good ground engineering models are essential. If you understand the origin and nature of soil and rock materials and their defects you can anticipate where they might occur (the site More Information…

Announced Courses

AGS Engineering Geology Course

October 2019

Aims of the course The principal objective of this course is to teach students how to apply geological skills in the field to help solve engineering problems. This will be carried out by using guided field exercises, in which the students learn by carrying out realistic project related work in the field whilst being supervised More Information…