Engineers Australia

Society News

36th IAEG Connector


The 36th IAEG Connector newsletter is available online and coincides with the launch of a new IAEG website and welcome from the new IAEG president, Rafig Azzam.

Call for Abstracts ISC’6


The 6th International Conference on Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization: “Toward synergy at site characterisation”, has called for abstracts.

The ISC (International Conference on Geotechnical and Geophysical Site Characterization) conferences are the major events in the life of ISSMGE’s TC102 (Technical Committee for Ground Property Characterization from In-Situ Tests). Since 1998, it will be the 6th time that geotechnical engineers and geophysicists from all over the world will gather and share their knowledge and experiences.

Besides the conventional site characterization topics, the conference will also focus on some other recent challenges. As numerical modelling plays a more important role in geotechnical practice, there is an increasing demand for links between in situ test results and material model parameters. Some recent research projects in this field (e.g. sophisticated numerical analysis of in situ tests) are very promising, thus a proper forum for discussing those results may be an important starting point in these areas. A special session will be dedicated to this topic which aims to facilitate cooperation between specialists in both fields. Another important aim is to facilitate more active cooperation between geotechnical engineers and geophysicists. While the combined use of the two disciplines can be very beneficial, the use of geophysics in everyday geotechnical works is still limited. In addition to having a session for geophysical testing, we are planning another special session dedicated to potential benefits of cooperation between these two fields, where best practices are presented and discussed. Such a forum may be beneficial for both geophysicists and geotechnical engineers.

Main themes

  • Equipment, Measuring Techniques, Sampling
  • Mechanical Testing (CPT, SPT, DMT, PMT, VST, PLT)
  • Geophysics in Geotechnical Engineering
  • Site Characterization, Case Studies, Uncertainties
  • In Situ Testing and Numerical Modelling
  • Engineering Applications
  • Problematic Soils (e.g. gravels, volcanics, expansive, sensitive, intermediate, mine tailings)
  • Education

Authors may also apply for the Silvano Marchetti Award. The ISSMGE Technical Committee TC102 – Ground Property Characterization from In-Situ Tests in cooperation with the University of L’Aquila, Italy has instituted the Silvano Marchetti Award (SMA) in memory of Professor Silvano Marchetti (1943-2016). The award is funded entirely by Studio Prof. Marchetti, Italy.

AGS NSW Research Award 2019


As part of their ongoing support of academic institutions and students, the Sydney and Newcastle Chapters of the Australian Geoechanics Society are offering the prestigious AGS NSW Research Award for research in Geotechnical Engineering or Engineering Geology. The award aims to provide a forum for research students from NSW universities to showcase their research to the wider Geotechnical Community.

More details are available in the flyer.

Important dates:

5th May 2019
Closing date for submissions

17th June 2019
Selection of three finalists

17th July 2019
Finalists presentation

IAEG Newsletter, 2018 Issue 4


The IAEG Newsletter (2018 Issue #4), is now available to download.

ACIGS 2019 International Speakers Program


ACIGS is pleased to announce the first International Speakers Series for 2019 on geosynthetic applications in Transport Infrastructure and Mining Applications.

For more information, download the flyer.

Geosynthetics In Transport Infrastructure

February 19th, 2019
Engineers Australia,
600 Bourke Street, Melbourne
8.30AM – 12.30PM
Tuesday 19 February 2019

Register for Geosynthetics in Transport Infrastructure

Geosynthetics in Mining Applications

February 22nd, 2019
Rydges Hotel,
9 Glenelg Street, South Brisbane
8.30AM – 12.30PM

Register for Geosynthetics in Mining Applications

ISSMGE News & Information Circular January 2019


The January 2019, ISSMGE newsletter is available online.

IAEG Top Posts of 2018


The IAEG have published a list of the top posts from their Connector E-News. The list of articles is available online.

ISRM Newsletter No. 44


The latest ISRM newsletter, number 44, is now available online.

Call for abstracts YSRM 2019 & REIF 2019


The Japanese Society for Rock Mechanics have announced the YSRM 2019: The 5th ISRM Young Scholars’ Symposium on Rock Mechanics & REIF 2019: International Symposium on Rock Engineering for Innovative Future”

from December 1 to 4, 2019.

The purpose of this symposium is to promote the exchange of newly invented technology among young and skilled researchers/engineers and to aid in the passing on of this technology and future developments to the younger generations.

Important dates:

  • Abstract Submission Deadline: April 30, 2019
  • Extended Abstract Submission Deadline: August 10, 2019
  • Early Bird Registration Closes: August 31, 2019


Scholarships for students and young scholars will be awarded to selected applicants.

For more information visit the website:

2017 Australian Geomechanics Award


The 2017 Australian Geomechanics Award has been awarded to Kim F. Chan and Tim S. Hull.

The award, which recognises the authors of the best paper published in Australian Geomechanics each calendar year, was awarded for their paper “20 years of monitoring a Geogrid Reinforced Soil Wall supporting a bridge abutment” published in Australian Geomechanics Volume 52, Issue 2.

Abstract submission date extended for 2019 US Rock Mechanics/Geomechanics Symposium


The abstract submission deadline for the ARMA 53rd US Rock Mechanics/ Geomechanics Symposium is extended to 30 November 2018.

Abstracts should be submitted online.

The symposium will be held in New York City, USA on 23-26 June 2019. The event will be held at the New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge, a short walk from Manhattan.

The symposium program will focus on new and exciting advances in all areas of rock mechanics and geomechanics. Technical tours and field trips are also being planned. Sightseeing tours will include various city landmarks, social activities and other attractions. Short courses and workshops will be held immediately prior or after to the symposium and will be listed as they are confirmed.

Information on symposium registration, exhibition, accommodation and sponsorships can be found on the website: or by contacting [email protected].

22nd IAEG Connector Newsletter


The most recent IAEG newsletter is available online.

This issue includes a number of calls for abstracts and general news.